Skip to content
Meet the Dream Team - Seth Hewie

Meet the Dream Team - Seth Hewie

If you've been in the shop in Summer you may haver met our summer student Seth Hewie. He's finishing up his last year of High School and has some big goals for life. He is probably the most excited to learn and head out on adventures than anyone. Meet our Dream Team member Seth Hewie.

Age:17

Where are you from?

 I was born in Ottawa, Ontario but my family moved to Canmore in August 2016.

Tell us a little about yourself.

I am just finishing up my last year of High School with plans of studying Geography in New Zealand in a couple years. I love spending time in the backcountry. There is no better way to spend a day then a long run or on the up track. Except when you follow a Gaia track that looks too good to be true and you end up waist deep in bushes ha. 

What sports did you practice as a child?   

Ever since I have been able to walk, I have cross country skied. Growing up in Ottawa I was never to far from Gatineau Park or Nakkertok, so skiing was an escape for my family. I am Canadian so I also played hockey for a couple years.

 

What brought you to the mountains?

My family always made yearly trips to Canmore for spring break to ski. When the opportunity rose to move anywhere in Canada, Canmore was an obvious choice. The access and quality of skiing, running, and biking is unparalleled.

 

What “personal touch” do you bring to SkiUphill / RunUphill?

Being half the age of all the senior citizens that work here I bring a different perspective. I’ve also become a bit of a gear head since beginning at SkiUphill. Researching and learning about our current and future products seems to take up more and more of my time. Somehow, I now justify having five pairs of running shoes. But I’m really just here so someone remembers all the passwords when one of the senior citizens has an oopsie and forgets all the passwords again.

 

What other sports are you interested in? 

If I’m not running in the summer, I’m probably riding my bike. One of my favorite things to do is gravel riding and bike packing. Being able to fly through the backcountry is a lot of fun and something I want to do more next summer.

 

What is your favourite area to run/ski?

My favourite place to ski is Talus Lodge. Nothing beats a run down Fat Albert. I’m not sure if I have a favourite place to run. Every summer I seem to discover a more beautiful trail. My favourite area is probably Waterton National Park. The ridges down there are amazing!

What are your other hobbies/interests?

I seem to spend most of my free time planning for my next excursion to the mountains. I also love maps and have a small collection of national geographic maps from 1960-70.

What’s your ideal day out in the mountains?

 My ideal day in the summer would probably start at around 6am and heading out for a long run to some lake deep in the backcountry

What’s your favourite piece of running gear?

It would probably be my Rabbit EZ Tee Perf shirt. It's so soft and breathable.

Favourite coffee/tea?

I haven’t attended University, so I am not addicted to caffeine. Yet.

Seth's hot chocolate game is improving after what could be described as a rocky start. We'll keep you posted when he achieves results on par with our coffee...! 

Previous article Mallory Richard is from Winnipeg, and she has tips for winter running
Next article Our Gear Swap Is About More Than Deals

Leave a comment

* Required fields

x